Skip to main content

Probiotics Reduce Mortality and Morbidity in Preterm, Low Birth Weight Infants: a Systematic Review and Network Meta-analysis of Randomized Trials.

  • 2020-08
  • Gastroenterology 159(2)
    • R. Morgan
    • Geoffrey A. Preidis
    • P. Kashyap
    • A. Weizman
    • B. Sadeghirad
    • Yaping Chang
    • I. Flórez
    • F. Foroutan
    • Shaneela Shahid
    • D. Zeraatkar

Abstract

Background & aims: We aimed to compare the effectiveness of single- vs multiple-strain probiotics in a network meta-analysis of randomized trials.

Methods: We searched MEDLINE, Embase, Science Citation Index Expanded, CINAHL, Scopus, Cochrane CENTRAL, BIOSIS Previews, and Google Scholar through January 1, 2019, for studies of single-strain and multistrain probiotic formulations on the outcomes of preterm, low-birth-weight neonates. We used a frequentist approach for network meta-analysis and the Grading of Recommendations Assessment, Development, and Evaluation (GRADE) approach to assess the certainty of evidence. Primary outcomes included all-cause mortality, severe necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC) (Bell stage II or more), and culture-proven sepsis.

Results: We analyzed data from 63 trials involving 15,712 preterm infants. Compared with placebo, a combination of 1 or more Lactobacillus species (spp) and 1 or more Bifidobacterium spp was the only intervention with moderate- or high-quality evidence of reduced all-cause mortality (odds ratio [OR], 0.56; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0.39-0.80). Among interventions with moderate- or high-quality evidence for efficacy compared with placebo, combinations of 1 or more Lactobacillus spp and 1 or more Bifidobacterium spp, Bifidobacterium animalis subspecies lactis, Lactobacillus reuteri, or Lactobacillus rhamnosus significantly reduced severe NEC (OR, 0.35 [95% CI, 0.20-0.59]; OR, 0.31 [95% CI, 0.13-0.74]; OR, 0.55 [95% CI, 0.34-0.91]; and OR, 0.44 [95% CI, 0.21-0.90], respectively). There was moderate- or high-quality evidence that combinations of 1 or more Lactobacillus spp and 1 or more Bifidobacterium spp and Saccharomyces boulardii reduced the number of days to reach full feeding (mean reduction of 3.30 days [95% CI, reduction of 5.91-0.69 days]). There was moderate- or high-quality evidence that, compared with placebo, the single-species product B animalis subsp lactis or L reuteri significantly reduced duration of hospitalization (mean reduction of 13.00 days [95% CI, reduction of 22.71-3.29 days] and mean reduction of 7.89 days [95% CI, reduction of 11.60-4.17 days], respectively).

Conclusions: In a systematic review and network meta-analysis of studies to determine the effects of single-strain and multistrain probiotic formulations on outcomes of preterm, low-birth-weight neonates, we found moderate to high evidence for the superiority of combinations of 1 or more Lactobacillus spp and 1 or more Bifidobacterium spp vs single- and other multiple-strain probiotic treatments. The combinations of Bacillus spp and Enterococcus spp, and 1 or more Bifidobacterium spp and Streptococcus salivarius subsp thermophilus, might produce the largest reduction in NEC development. Further trials are needed.

Keywords: Commensal; Microbiota; Newborn; Supplement.

Research Insights

SupplementHealth OutcomeEffect TypeEffect Size
Bifidobacterium lactis R101-8Reduced Hospitalization DurationBeneficial
Large
Bifidobacterium lactis R101-8Reduced Severe Necrotizing Enterocolitis (NEC)Beneficial
Moderate
⬆ Back to top
Pillser
Supplement Research and Comparison Website: evidence-based information about supplements, their benefits, potential risks, and their efficacy.
Receive updates about our products, services, sales, and special offers. Unsubscribe anytime. See our Privacy Policy for details on how we handle your information.

Join Our Community

Use support@pillser.com to get in touch.